Living in the moment

If you are depressed, you are living in the past. If you are anxious, you are living in the future. If you are at peace, you are living in the present.”

Warning: This one’s a little emotional.

I came across this Lao Tzu quote today and I think it reflects my current state of mind pretty accurately. As the one week mark has now passed, my time in Denmark is quickly coming to an end. I am so sad to leave, and yet so excited to be going home. But rather than thinking about what I would have changed about this semester, or worrying about the coming semester (since there is plenty of that to be done), I’m trying to focus on the now.

This semester has been the greatest adventure. I have learned so much, inside and out of the classroom, made new friends, integrated into a Danish family, and have been immersed in the culture for long enough to feel at home. But there is more of that that will come in a later post.

The point is, I have 6 days until I return to sunny southern California and I plan to enjoy every moment of them by focusing not on the past, nor the future, but on the now. This week is shaping up to be one that is full of goodbyes, to the people I have spent the past four months around and the places that I have come to love.

So I will be out there, riding my bike in the below freezing temperatures and snow, enjoying my final rides on my train which has begun to feel like the Polar Express, exploring the Christmas markets around Copenhagen, visiting the last few places I need to see, and spending precious time with people that I probably won’t see for some time after I leave.

And with that, I’m perfectly happy and content.

